Students in Dexter shirts walking to parade
7 smiling Alt Ed & DHS staff stand together
Transportation staff wave excitedly from a Dexter Bus
Student works on graphic software in GraphX class
New Dexter teachers stand in front of a Dexter bus holding Dread Strong signs
Board President Mara Greatorex with Principal Tammy Reich
Student art - two abstract colorful pottery face masks
young students in spirit gear sitting on a curb to watch the parade
Dexter marching band in the homecoming parade
DHS Students celebrating on the indoor track
Dr. Timmis speaking to teachers in the CPA

Fast Facts

193 Years of History

Dexter's first school was built in 1830 on "B" Street downtown, with a second school built next door in 1843. Dexter Union Schoolhouse was built in 1857 at 7714 Ann Arbor Street , the site of the present-day “Copeland Building”. This facility was rebuilt in 1887 with a major addition in 1936. In 1950, twelve local districts were consolidated to form the district known as “Dexter Agricultural Schools,” now known as Dexter Community Schools.

3600 Students

Dexter Community Schools serves approximately 3600 students and includes the City of Dexter and parts of eight townships: Dexter, Webster, Scio, Northfield, Hamburg, Lima, Freedom, and Lodi. 

9 Buildings on Campus

The Dexter Community Schools Campus includes nine buildings within walking distance of each other: Jenkins ECLC Preschool; Bates School (which houses half day preschool, Community Education, and the DCS administrative offices); Anchor and Beacon (which make up the Dexter Early Elementary C0mplex), Wylie Elementary, Creekside Intermediate, Mill Creek Middle, Dexter High School, and Dexter Alternative School.